Sunday, September 30, 2007

12 Stones

12 Stones is a rock band from Mandeville, Louisiana. Lead vocalist Paul McCoy was also featured in the successful Evanescence single "Bring Me to Life", for which he won a Grammy. The name of the band is a reference to their Christian values. As stated on their official website, "12 Stones" is taken metaphorically from the twelve stones in the Hoshen, a breastplate worn by the high priest of Levitical order in the Old Testament. The rights to the name were bought from a family who had come up with the name for their cottage. In an interview on the national television special Broken TV, McCoy explained that the band's name reflects a reference to the twelve stones that the Israelites erected after they crossed the Jordan River. McCoy also stated in an interview with Christian Music Review that their name is also a reference to the twelve disciples that followed Jesus.

Band History

12 Stones was formed in 2000 in Mandeville, Louisiana, a small suburb north of New Orleans. The first line-up consisted of Paul McCoy (vocals), Kevin Dorr (bass), Eric Weaver (guitar), and Aaron Gainer (drums). After performing several live shows, the band recorded a demo and went to New York City where they performed at an industry showcase.

After that, the band was signed up by Wind-Up Records.
The band's eponymous debut album was released in 2002, produced by Jay Baumgardner. The band gained more fame when vocalist McCoy performed in Evanescence's song "Bring Me to Life" opposite Amy Lee. The song was included in both Evanescence's album, Fallen and in the Daredevil film soundtrack. In 2004, Kevin Dorr quit the band and touring guitarist Greg Trammell later became an official member. Their second album, Potter's Field came out in 2004. Both albums were supported with heavy touring. Clint Amereno and then Aaron Hill were brought in to play bass for the shows. After their last tour, the band decided to take a break from the band to be with their respective families. After the departure of Greg Trammell, 12 Stones completed their lineup with ex-Breaking Point guitarist Justin Rimer, a producer on the band's third album, and former Presence bassist DJ Stange. Their third album, Anthem For The Underdog, was released in 2007. The album is said to be inspired by the effects of Hurricane Katrina on their hometown. Shortly after the album's release, Stange quit and Shawn Wade played bass for the band on tour.

Band Members

  • Paul McCoy – Lead vocals
  • Eric Weaver – Guitar
  • Aaron Gainer – Drums, backing vocals
  • Justin Rimer - Guitar
  • Shawn Wade - Bass
Albums Songs in other media The songs from 12 Stones have been used in several films and other shows.
  • "My Life" from their self-titled album was featured on the The Scorpion King soundtrack in 2002.
  • "Home" (also from the self-titled album) was the song used for the WWE Desire video for Kurt Angle.
  • The band recorded the song "Let Go" exclusively for the Daredevil movie soundtrack.
  • Songs "Running out of Pain" and "Back Up" were used on Cheating Death, Stealing Life - The Eddie Guerrero Story.
  • "Shadows" from Potter's Field was used in a trailer for the film Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest.
  • "Photograph" (also from Potter's Field) appeared on the Elektra movie soundtrack 2005.

No comments: